Skip to main content

Chocaholics Anonymous?

No, no, this calling is not about reforming or for that matter, anything remotely useful. To reveal a bit of my narcissistic side - I just wanted to see how many of you out there as 'cocoa nuts' as me about chocolates.

First, let's go through a checklist to see if you pass the unofficial "Chocoholic" test (made up by an entire team of eminent "psy-choco-logists" from the prestigious University of Uselesstudiesford) -

1. Have you ever dreamt roaming around the cocoa plantations of Brazil, unabashedly indulging in drinking to what you hold with highest regard as the ambrosia from heaven - a warm cup of hot cocoa? Of course, half way through sipping, your wild dream may be rudely cut short by a spear jab on the back. You've been accused of trespassing by an angry South American native and chances are, you'll probably be roasted alive along with the next batch of cocoa beans but hey, it was all for a good cause, right?

2. Do you wish Valentine's day should be celebrated every month, so that you can embark on a guilt-free, chocolate-eating spree? Also, how about dropping those heavy hints to your 'chocolatey bitter-half' about how you'll love to be given a big box of chocolates. After all, love to you and me, signifies a beautiful moment of an unconditional passion for - of course - the one and only - as the Mayans called it, Xocoatl. Mmmm, even writing this piece feels like savoring a sweet chocolate crumb. Yummy.

3. Lastly, the worst scum of it all, do you secretly lay your hands on the Halloween candy that your child brings home after 'trick-or-treating'? You do? That's so horrible. Beyond repair. You know what's going to happen to you? The worst. You'll have to join me.

Ok, now you have passed this absurd test with flying brown colors. You are free to jump with joy and grab that box of chocolates that you have cleverly hid under the couch. Yeah, we all know. It's an age-old technique. Try behind the bed next time.

Until then - Viva La Cocoa !

Popular posts from this blog

Mothering Business....

Quite a bunch, aren't we? Not only burdened with the responsibilities of raising new-age kids who are high tech, but come with nope, not even a "Parenting for dummies" manual, managing a challenging and dynamic job-front, dealing with the social aspects of the family like being the perfect daughter, a good sister, the kind neighbor, a caring wife, dutiful daughter-in-law et al. Add the mundane chores of cooking, cleaning, gardening, chauffering to this list and - I know, my head is spinning too. Easy now, let's sit down for a minute. Most of the current gen mothers that I know take their diverse roles to their heart, and try to make the best out of it. It's business as usual for them. No big deal, they would brush off. But, I always wonder if we're all unconsciously trying to be "Supermums", especially the huge task of balancing work and home. We definitely want to be out having a career or a job which is what keeps us sane and yet, no way ...

Human Needs and Relationships....Part 1

Let's admit it. All of us as adult humans have needs, wants and desires. At first, they have and will be at a basic sustenance level of food, shelter and clothing, and once that's done, it moves to many different elevations above. Also, it always starts with material things like money, car, house, job etc., then kids (and the heavy price tag that comes with them) etc. Think of it as the " taking " phase. At some point of life, when many hairs have been "grayed-and-dyed" after, we hopefully evolve to higher-order thinking like social work, helping/caring for others or spiritual quest etc. - basically, chucking the hugely inflated and egoistic "me and only me" out and replacing it with a big picture view of "what i can do for others", "how i can be useful to Mother Earth"  line of thought process. This would be the " giving " or " pay-back " phase. Sorry, life doesn't offer any free lunch, anytime, an...

On Equality....

So much hoopla about womanhood, feminism, and what's right or wrong, extreme or mild versions of it, am suddenly feeling a urge to clarify my views on this topic. Quite bizarrestrangoweird that it never crossed my mind all these donkey's years, to actually think of what being a woman meant to me, leave alone write about it. Anyways, let me just sit down and make an attempt to de-clutter all the muck and mud surrounding this mess. One word pretty much bottoms it down, and I've given away the punchline in my title anyway-  EQUALITY.  As simple as that. What goes for the goose goes for the gander. Except, what both genders physiologically can and can't do- pregnancy and childbirth, hormones, work that involves upper body strength etc. Even the latter is kind of debatable, with sports being a levelling field right now - yes, that was meant to be "punny" :-) Anything else that is possible for both genders, like education, work, choosing a life pa...